Restaurant Review: Friendly Toast

The Friendly Toast in Kendall Square is a great place to go for drinks or food.  It’s kitschy and cute.  I also like that there is enough space between the tables so one does not feel like a sardine in a can.  I especially love the retro hamburger patch kid improved upon with a south-of-the-border flair, complete with poncho and handlebar ‘tashe.

I have been to the Friendly Toast twice and really like the staff there. They actually offer to check with the kitchen to confirm if something is gluten-free and they seem pretty knowledgeable about cross-contamination.  I was told I could not eat the regular fries as they are cooked in the same fryer as gluten products, however, the sweet potato fries are baked and therefore ok to eat.

This is one of the few places offering gluten-free pancakes in the Boston area (that I know of).   The pancakes were really good.  They were giant, light and fluffy, basically everything a pancake should be. They were laden with coconut, cashews and chocolate chips.  I was a little miffed that the pancakes came out bare instead of doused in coconut sauce, but hey, a little maple-syrup product will fix just about anything.

I was disappointed that I could not dig in to the cheese fries with strawberry jalapeno dipping sauce.  I did taste just one and it was so tasty that I am going to work on a gluten-free at home version.  The sauce was sweet with a little kick at the end.  There were at least two kinds of cheese used to enhance the fries; cheddar and blue cheese.  It sounds like a weird combination, but it comes out just right, salty and sweet with just a hint of heat.

The Friendly Toast is located in Kendall Square across from the movie theater.  There is another branch in Portsmouth.  http://www.thefriendlytoast.net/

G/F suitability: 4/5

Ambiance in 1 word: fun!

Taste: 3/5

One thought on “Restaurant Review: Friendly Toast

  1. I wonder if the beans and rice plate is gluten free? I absolutely love that dish- it’s so spicy and hearty. I get it with fake bacon but I’m sure that has gluten. It comes with regular sausage.

Leave a Reply

