Restaurant Review: Union

Union on Washington Street in Boston is one of my favorite go to brunch spots.

The dining room is black and white with over-stuffed banquettes.  It feels like an upscale neighborhood hangout.  The staff is always friendly and knowledgeable about food allergies.

The first time I went, I had recently been diagnosed with celiac’s and was a little tentative about dining out.  The waiter immediately put me at ease by offering to check everything with the chef.  Not only were they great about checking a few menu options, but they also made substitutions.  Instead of toast and coffee cake with my order, they brought out a fresh fruit salad.  I have been there several times and each time I have had a great dining experience.

They have bomb homefries with peppers and onions.  Their omlettes are always perfectly cooked and chockfull of veggies.  Their portions are substantial without hitting grotesque.  As of the last time I ate there (about a month ago), they do not have any gluten free bread products / pancakes, etc., but they make up for it by offering a varied selection of egg dishes, salads and meats.  Based on the discussions I have had with the wait-staff, a celiac / gluten-free diner can have at least half of the brunch menu.

I have never been for dinner, but if they are super helpful and pleasant on a Sunday morning, I am sure they will be equally helpful any night of the week.  http://www.unionrestaurant.com/home/

G/F friendly: 4/5

Ambiance in one word: relaxed

Taste: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

