Restaurant Review: Burton’s Grill

While looking for a new restaurant in the Fenway area, I had two parameters: good food and a gluten-free menu of some kind.  I was just not in the mood for one of those ordering debacles, which ends up making me feel like a jag for having celiac.  Luckily, I found Burton’s Grill.

The dining area is nice, with large leather banquettes.  The bar area was ample with both plenty of seating and standing room. I would describe it as a mix between a steakhouse and a French bistro.    It is definitely worth mentioning the bathrooms: very clean and spacious.

Burton’s has teamed up with the Gluten Intolerance Group to create a gluten-free menu.  They have a commitment to food allergy awareness and post specific information on their website to help their diners before they even get to the restaurant.  In addition, Burton’s stocks gluten-free breads!  For the first time in 2 years, I was able to eat a hamburger in a restaurant.  Amazing.

The pricing is about the same as the Cheesecake Factory, but the portions are smaller (i.e. – food is not brought out on a trough).  Burton’s makes up for this with better quality.  My waiter understood my allergy needs, the kitchen’s capacity to change dishes, and was able to rattle off substitutions and options without even looking at a menu.

I ordered a burger with bleu cheese and steamed broccoli on the side. Delicious.  The meat was tender and well-seasoned.  The cheese was tangy.  The bread was soft and perfectly toasted.  My dining companions had a cobb salad and steak and eggs breakfast and each also gave the food thumbs up.  The only real draw back was the drinks.  I ordered a seasonal fall cocktail.  My friend ordered a Bloody Mary.  I thought my drink was fine, but the Bloody Mary seemed watered down.

I did not get fries, but I was told the fries are safe for gluten-free diners.  I think it is especially worth noting that they do offer a fried fish sandwich, which I am going to try next time I go!

Overall, this is a nice dining experience.  I would recommend this place to anyone with food allergies who want a painless dining experience.

G/F friendly: 5 of 5

Food Taste and Quality: 4.5 of 5

Leave a Reply

