Brown Sugar Fro Yo

Frozen Yogurt with Banana and Blueberries

Image by planetc1 via Flickr

I know spring is here somewhere, despite the crap-tastic weather we have been having.  So I decided to work on my ice-cream making skills this weekend.  I love fro yo.  I hit up the Pinkberry (btw, who else is excited for salted caramel to hit the market?!), Red Mango and Berryline near my office on a regular basis.  However, at 4-6 bucks a serving, I thought it was time to make my own, more economical version at home.

I decided to start with the basics, a vanilla fro-yo, easily dressed up by fruit or honey.  Instead of the standard white sugar, I went with brown sugar to add a slightly more rich and molasses-y flavor to the fro-yo.

I hit up 101cookbooks.com and found a recipe for fro-yo that rivals Pinkberry’s original fro yo, which I used as a base for my recipe.

After making it, I realized that I should work on a way to incorporate something to make the fro-yo stay a bit softer.  I used 0% fat Greek yogurt, which made the mixture harden fast and melt slowly.  It might be worth going up to the 2% version to ensure that scooping is a bit easier.  Fats makes things more scoopable.

Ingredients:

4 cups 2% or full fat Greek yogurt (it still tastes fine with 0%, but will be hard to scoop)

¾ cup lightly packed brown sugar

2 tsp gluten-free vanilla

Note on the directions: I use a Kitchenaid with the ice cream maker attachment.  My instructions are based on the instructions suggested by Kitchenaid.  If you are not using a Kitchenaid, read the manufacturer’s instruction book.

Stir until smooth, it takes longer than one might think!


1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl.  Stir until the sugar is dissolved and the mixture is smooth.

2. Turn on your ice cream maker.  I keep my ice cream maker bowl in the back of the freezer, so it is ready to go when I am.  Pull it out at the last possible moment, the colder the bowl is, the better the ice cream will set up.

Left: pouring in the fro yo Right: the fro you when it is ready for the freezer

3. Stream in the yogurt mixture.  Keep the ice cream maker on stir or low.  It takes a while for the ice cream to form, between 10 and 20 minutes.  If you have a Kitchenaid, you may hear an audible clicking, which will indicate if the ice cream is ready.  You can also tell visually, the mixture will become more like a pudding and then a bit more stiff, almost like a meringue.  When it gets to that stage, it is done.

4. To avoid damaging the ice cream maker attachment, pour the ice cream into another container suitable for the freezer.  Allow to freeze 2-3 hours.

Served up with some fresh fruit and honey, a light and naturally gluten-free dessert

Leave a Reply

